Before disasters happen, the Northwest Healthcare Response Network (NWHRN) leads multi-agency and cross-jurisdictional initiatives across the region to prepare healthcare organizations and our response partners through collaborative planning, information sharing, engagement, training, exercises and advocacy. To help assure preparedness and response activities align with identified healthcare and regional vulnerabilities, NWHRN collaborated with tribal, healthcare, public health, emergency medical services, fire and emergency management partners to assess hazards across Washington.

NWHRN has developed the following Hazard Vulnerability Assessment (HVA) to assist Washington healthcare organizations with their plans:

NWHRN Healthcare System Hazard Vulnerability Assessment with District Level Review

This HVA presents an analysis of hazards in each of the following geographies:

  • NWHRN Coalition Districts:
    • Central – King and Pierce Counties
    • North – Island, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish, and Whatcom Counties
    • Northwest – Clallam, Jefferson, and Kitsap Counties
    • West – Grays Harbor, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, and Thurston Counties
  • Southwest Washington Healthcare Alliance
    • Clark, Cowlitz, Skamania, Wahkiakum and Klickitat Counties
  • Wenatchee Catchment Area
    • Chelan, Grant, Douglas, Kittitas and Okanogan Counties
  • Spokane Catchment Area
    • Spokane, Stevens, Whitman, Adams, Pend Oreille, Asotin, Lincoln, Ferry, Garfield and Columbia Counties
  • Tri-Cities Catchment Area
    • Yakima, Benton, Franklin and Walla Walla Counties

Last updated June 2023.