The Network offers numerous resources to help organizations meet the 2016 Center for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) Emergency Preparedness Requirements for Medicare and Medicaid Participating Providers and Suppliers final rules.  The purpose of these CMS rules are to establish national emergency preparedness requirements to ensure adequate planning for both natural and man-made disasters, and coordination with federal, state, tribal, regional and local emergency preparedness systems. The Network directly supports the community connection (for planning, training, and response) requirement.

The CMS Emergency Preparedness rule went into effect November 15, 2016 and the regulations must have been implemented by affected entities by November 15, 2017. Specific providers and suppliers are required to meet four core elements (with specific requirements adjusted based on the individual characteristics of each provider and supplier):

1) Emergency Plan

2) Policies and Procedures

3) Communications Plan

4) Training and Testing Program

In 2017, the Network partnered with Pierce County Emergency Management and Tacoma Pierce County Health Department to develop a document that provides resources to assist facilities in meeting their individual CMS requirements. In addition, the Network partnered with Pierce County Emergency Management to host a two-day workshop designed to help healthcare facilities learn how to write a plan, design training and exercise, plan for vulnerable populations, etc.

Contact the Network for more information.